The Resource For Musicals

Beauty and the Beast Forum

Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
i want to be Mrs Potts- HELPPPP 
Fresh Face
Fresh Face

Post i want to be Mrs Potts- HELPPPP
OK so I'm a senior drama club officer and we're doing beauty and the beast (obviously) and i REALLY REALLY wanna be Mrs Potts. I'm definitely in the running for leads and i have some serious competition.
i need help with the PERFECT song to sing and how to get the accent down really well.
i really wanna "WOO" them with my audition =]
I'm an alto but i can sing some mezzo stuff.
i heard it a super fun part and i really really want it, so please help
thank you so much!!!

Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Broadway Legend / MdN Veteran
Broadway Legend / MdN Veteran

Current Obsession: Paul Gordon's new musical, "Emma"
How much time do you have to prepare? I was actually thinking a few weeks ago that "Perfectly Nice" from Jane Eyre would be a good song for Mrs. Potts, it has fast bits, slow bits, a wide range.
although, for such an iconic character and famous song, you might do well to ask the production team if they want you to sing the title song.

Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:46 am
Fresh Face
Fresh Face

well we've asked the directors that but the director doesn't want us to sing a song from the musical. i mean ive got pretty tough competition for this part so i'm gonna have to prepare everything. the perfect song, the accent and i'll have to cold read for her and such. i was thinking of the song the age of not believing because ive heard people have had luck with that song but idk which one might be better

Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:42 pm
Fresh Face
Fresh Face

Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:47 pm
Tony Winner
Tony Winner

Our HS is doing BatB this year and there was some Stiff competion for Mrs. Potts. For starters:

1) Learn the script http://www.musicorld.com/libretto/beaut ... etto1.html