The Resource For Musicals

The Music Man Forum

Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Charlie Cowell Act 1 
Fresh Face
Fresh Face

Post Charlie Cowell Act 1
Hello I'm new here and well, in my school production of The Music Man I play Charlie Cowell and I would like to hear comments on this:
We didn't have anyone to play the other Salesmen in Rock Island so I have to compose a new beggining for a Charlie Cowell solo scene.(Harold Hill is at the end). Here's what I've come up with while using some lines from other salesman:
Ever meet a fellow by the name of Hill?
I'm an anvil salesman Charlie Cowell's the name and Harold Hill's given every last one of us a black eye!
He's just a bang-beat bell ringin', big haul, great go, neck or nothin', rip roarin', ever time a bull's eye salesman. That's professer Harold Hill, Harold Hill!
He's a fake and he doesn't know the territory!
The fella sells bands, boys bands and I don't know how he does it but he lives like a king and he dallies and he gathers and he plucks and he shines and when the man dances certainly boys what els the piper pays him. Yes sir, yes sir, yes sir, yes sir. When the man dances certainly biys what else the piper pays him!
But he doesn't know the territory!
After he's worked a town over the next salesman to arrive automatically gets tarred and feathered and rode out to the city limits on a rail.
Because in order to sell band instruments and uniforms and instruction books he has to garauntee to teech the kids to play and to form them kids into a band with himself as the leader.
Well it won't be on this in trip, not in Iowa not even the great proffesor Hill would try to sell them neck-bowed hawkeyes out here. I'll be keeping my eyes peeled for him! (All while speeking to the audience)
Harold: Excuse me could you point me towards the center of town?
Charlie:Right up this way, don't believe I caught your name!
Harold: Don't believe I dropped it!