The Resource For Musicals

A Funny Thing Happened On the Way To the Forum Forum

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
My school's doing Forum ... 
Young Hoofer
Young Hoofer

Post My school's doing Forum ...
... and I'm the music director/costume designer.
It's almost entirely student-run, so I'll be involved with a lot of fundraising, set design, publicity etc. as well.
Anyone who's ever been in Forum, seen it, listened to the CD, or has any connection to musical theatre at all - any suggestions? Normally in musical theatre I'm on the stage, and this is my first time behind the scenes, so I need all the help I can get!
(We also need to do it super on the cheap. So really, any suggestions anyone has would be very much appreciated). Thanks!
Kate

Mon Jul 31, 2006 11:17 am
Broadway Legend / MdN Veteran

The show can be easily done cheaply as there is only one set and each character needs only one costume. Watch the movie to get a feel for the costumes and such. The movie is excellent except for the fact that it cuts a lot of the music out.

Mon Jul 31, 2006 11:27 am
Profile WWW
Young Hoofer
Young Hoofer

I really want to make special costumes for the courtesans (kind of French maid togas) for "Everybody Ought To Have A Maid" and have them all dancing around with feather dusters (and maybe dancing a little bit with Senex during the song) ... any thoughts?
Also, for anyone that was in a production - what did you use for armour for Miles Gloriosus? Thanks!

Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:27 pm

Main Role: Performer
its a bad move usingt he courtesans in the "everybody ought ot have a maid song". the song requires a certain vaudeville type staging. only the men singing should appear in the song.

Wed Aug 02, 2006 7:34 am
Profile WWW
Young Hoofer
Young Hoofer

What exactly do you mean by "a vaudeville type staging?" Having never seen anything even remotely vaudeville-inspired, it's hard for me to have a sense of how that would look ...
Thanks!
-Kate

Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:04 am