The Resource For Musicals

Evita Forum

Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Alan Parker 

What is Alan Parker's coolest music-related film?
Fame 44%  44%  [ 4 ]
The Commitments 33%  33%  [ 3 ]
Pink Floyd: The Wall 22%  22%  [ 2 ]
Total votes : 9

Alan Parker 
Supporting Player
Supporting Player

Post Alan Parker
Unlike many people here, the film version of "Evita" was my first introduction to this musical. All I knew about it before seeing it was that this was the musical where "Don't Cry For Me Argentina", "Another Suitcase In Another Hall" and "You Must Love Me" came from (songs they played on the local radio a lot - mainly because the buzz was that this movie could win Madonna an Oscar, and idea that had me incredulous...). That, and the fact that it was directed by Alan Parker...

Now, as a film student, I have the greatest respect for Alan Parker - who is, in my view, probably one of the most underrated directors working today - and am surprised he isn't more well known.

Two of his non-musical films : "Birdy" (the story of a traumatised Vietnam-vet's attempts to rehabilitate) and "Angel Heart" (a film-noir detective thriller with supernatural overtones) are in my top ten. And of all the "80s Dance Movies" (ie "Flashdance", "Dirty Dancing") that I grew up suffering through (on account of my Mum's fondness for the genre) only Parker's "Fame" featured any halfway plausible characters n' situations I could relate to.

And generally his other films throughout the 80s and early 90s struck a chord with me ("The Committments", "Pink Floyd: The Wall", "Missisipi Burning").